Life October 27, 1941

Bob Hope’s They Got Me Covered

Life magazine’s October 27, 1941 profile of Bob Hope: “His most pretentious work, They Got Me Covered, a riotous autobiography, is in the tradition of Josh Billings, Bill Nye and Petroleum V. Nasby, and he is…

Story Title

Opening Lines

“I woke up a few minutes ago with a severe headache and a sense of impending death. In the next half hour or so, I know, I am going to die. Nothing can now prevent my…

Mystery Weekly Magazine October 2018 masthead

Mystery Weekly Magazine October 2018

Contents Michael Mallory “The Inimitable Affair” Nik Morton “The Very First Detective: The Killing Stone” Eric B. Ruark “The Beekepper’s Dilemma” Bruce Harris “A (Deliberately) Tangled Skein” Thomas K. Carpenter “The Secrets of Skin” Tim McDaniel…

Fate No. 358 masthead

Fate No. 358 January 1980

Contents Curtis Fuller: I See By the Papers Jane M. Loy “Quest for El Dorado” Diane G. Holdson “The Escort” Martin Ebon “The Mystic Visions of the Shah of Iran” W. Ritchie Benedict: Star of Bethlehem…

Splash Panel

Eppstein and Neno’s Vicar

Michael Neno has drawn a new adventure of “The Vicar” for Ken Eppstein’s Nix Comics Quarterly. NCQ No. 10 includes the following: Ken Eppstein & Michael Neno “The Night has 1,000 Eyes” (The Vicar and His…

Modern Age Books All Picture Catalog AP-262

Modern Age Books

Modern Age Books sells vintage paperbacks, SF digests, magazines, pulps, comics, and more through a monthly mail order catalog and an email auction. Their All Picture Catalog No. AP-262 includes all eight issues of The Digest…

Story Title

James Ward Kirk’s Personal Dream

From Weirdbook No. 34: The champion of weird in this particular Weirdbook is likely Dan Teagarden, protagonist of “My Personal Dream” by James Ward Kirk. Teagarden smirks at the funeral of his abusive father but writhes…

ECR2 masthead

Econo Clash Review No. 2

Contents J.D. Graves: Welcome Thrill Seekers (introduction) Victoria Dalpe “The Girl” D.J. Tyrer “Desert Wind” Preston Lang “The Assimilation of Bruce Gleason” G.A. Miller “Trappe’s Rest” Alec Cizak “Useful Things” Olin Wish “Short Cut” James Harper…